top shadow image

American Haiku Archives Honorary Curator

Every year on July 12, the anniversary of the founding of the American Haiku Archives in 1996, the AHA advisory board appoints an honorary curator to serve a one-year term. This curatorship carries no responsibilities and offers no financial compensation, but seeks to honor prominent poets, scholars, and translators who have had a significant impact on haiku in North America. The following links provide short biographies, photos, bibliographies, and sample poems of honorary curators for the American Haiku Archives. See the Criteria for Appointing Honorary Curators.

Current Honorary Curator

Alexis Rotella, 2019-2020

Former Honorary Curators

John Stevenson, 2018-2019
Patricia Donegan, 2017-2018
Haruo Shirane, 2016-2017
Ruth Yarrow, 2015-2016
Marlene Mountain, 2014-2015 (deceased)
Charles Trumbull, 2013-2014
LeRoy Gorman, 2012-2013
Jerry Ball, 2011-2012 (deceased)
Gary Snyder
, 2010-2011
Stephen Addiss
, 2009-2010
George Swede, 2008–2009
H. F. Noyes, 2007–2008 (deceased)
Hiroaki Sato, 2006–2007
Francine Porad, 2005–2006 (deceased)
Makoto Ueda, 2004–2005
William J. Higginson, 2003–2004 (deceased)
Leroy Kanterman, 2002–2003 (deceased)
Lorraine Ellis Harr, 2001–2002 (deceased)
Robert Spiess, 2000–2001 (deceased)
Cor van den Heuvel, 1999–2000
Jerry Kilbride, 1998–1999 (deceased)
Elizabeth Searle Lamb, 1996–1998 (deceased)


bottom shadow image

This site is independent of and not endorsed by the California State Library. It is operated by the American Haiku Archives advisory board in support of the archives and its mission, which is to collect, preserve, and promote haiku and related poetry as a vital component of literature in the English language. Webmaster: Michael Dylan Welch.
© 2020 American Haiku Archives •